A Journey Begins


Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter. — Izaak Walton

One of my favorite books is Eragon. Eragon is the first book in Christopher Paolini’s series, Inheritance Cycle. This series was originally published by Paolini online when he was in high school, and one day a publisher saw it and contacted Paolini and the series got published. The first book is named after the main character, Eragon, who is a farm boy in a land called Alagaesia. The following is a quick synopsis of the book.

One day, Eragon goes hunting in the woods, and comes home with nothing but a mysterious stone. Eragon then tries to sell the stone, but the man he tries to sell it to won’t buy it as he believes the area the stone came from is cursed. Eragon then takes the stone home and goes to bed. He wakes up in the middle of the night to find the stone shaking, and watches as it falls off a shelf. As he picks what he believes to be a stone up he realizes it is an egg, and a sapphire blue dragon comes out of the egg. When the baby dragon touches the palm of Eragon’s hand, he receives a gedwёy ignasia, which creates a bond between a dragon and its rider. Eragon doesn’t know what is going on but is quickly coming to love this creature.  He feeds it and then hides it at the edge of the woods where he can take care of it without getting in trouble with the evil King Galbatorix.

Eragon then seeks the guidance of the town storyteller, Brom, to find out how to take care of the baby dragon. Brom is the only storyteller in the land who tells the stories of the dragons and their Riders. Brom quickly picks up on Eragon’s not so subtle questions and tells Eragon how to take care of the dragon and tells Eragon some of the previous dragons’ names. Eragon then chooses to name his dragon after the late Saphira due to his dragon’s color. Before Eragon leaves for each meeting with Brom, Brom warns Eragon the dangers of having a dragon.

Brom tells Eragon that years before Eragon was born, there were hundreds of Riders, and Galbatorix was one of them. Then one day Galbatorix’s dragon was killed, and he sought a new one. When the Riders refused to allow him a new one he forced an egg to hatch with dark magic and waged a civil war amongst the Riders. When he won, he made sure the only Riders left were under his control. Eragon told Brom he understood his warning and went home.

One day though, when Eragon went home he found his home burned down, and his uncle dead. This leads Eragon, Saphira, and Brom on a journey into the world of Elves, Dwarves, Urgals, magic, and many other mystical things. Eragon soon realizes there is so much more to Alagaesia then what happens in his small town.

I love this book for its use of many mythological species and very interesting plot. I definitely recommend this book and series to anyone who likes fantasy, fiction, and adventure books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s